Skip to content
June 2, 2009 / merlisser

Running day. every day

“The Hero lies in you” — Mariah Carey

Tomorrow is National Running Day.

According to the website.

National Running Day is a national initiative whereby many of the major organizations within the running industry are joining forces in an unprecedented unified effort to nationally and locally promote running as a healthy, easy, and accessible form of exercise. The inaugural National Running Day will be Wednesday, June 3.

I ran the Little Rock Half Marathon in March. I must confess that I haven’t stayed on schedule after the post race tapering down phase. I was there for a little while and then it began to rain every day. Well, I’m not going to excuse it. I just didn’t get back to any sort of mileage.

Being a woman who is a chronic list maker, I always manage to take a half year assessment of my life and make a list of the things I want to do in the following year. Sometimes I look at my New Year’s resolutions and see how I’m doing with those. It just depends.

I am very proud for completing the big goal of completing a half marathon. I’m going to start running 4 days a week starting yesterday. There’s another half marathon in Conway around October. I intend to finish that and I want to try the Little Rock Marathon next march. I guess I better get training.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rebl1969 / Jun 3 2009 5:45 am

    I’m toying with the idea of doing the DeGray Lake 5K at the end of July…it’s at night! You run though the park at night! Doesn’t that sound cool?

  2. Melissa / Jun 3 2009 12:27 pm

    ooh running at night is fun. When the weather is so hot, (like now and later in the summer), I usually end up running around 8 or 9 o’clock in the “school annex” The high school, junior high, and elementary schools are all connected. It’s well lit. Security and since school’s out. no traffic in my way.

Leave a Reply

