Skip to content
June 5, 2010 / merlisser

101 update and finishing the list… or something

Apparently, I inspired one of my friends to start her own 101 list. so I figured I would update mine. At one point, I was going to update once a month in the first place so here goes.

1001 days from the day I started my list is Wednesday, April 11, 2012. So I got a little less than two years to get going.

My first problem. I can’t think of 101 things to do. So I guess #1 is to figure out 101 things. And yes I still haven’t completed the freaking list. Of course, I am also realizing that some of my goals just might be mutually exclusive which means there is no way I can achieve all of them. Yeah, I’m complicated.

Let’s see.

THINGS DEFINITELY DONE

  1. Go to a Little Rock Tweet up
  2. Go to Memphis in May
  3. Get a Smart phone
  4. Go to National Association for Criminal Defense lawyers annual meeting. (Okay to be fair, I went to the Spring Meeting instead of the annual meeting but dammit, I’m going to count it.
  5. Get Linked In profile updated
  6. Get certified for conflicts list in Arkansas State court
  7. Get practice management software/system set up
  8. Go to my 15 year college reunion (It was held on April 17, 2010 and I was there)
  9. Go see Conan O’Brien (okay I’m aware that this is slightly cheating but if at the time of the inception of this list if there was a chance in hell of Conan touring, I would have put it on here. So yeah. WHEEE)
  10. I got a professional massage after the Little Rock half marathon. AWOO HOO

Things that I am definitely on track to complete

  1. To complete two half marathons (I completed the Little Rock Marathon half so one down and one to go
  2. Get my passport renewed (as of today, I have an application)
  3. Go back to Africa (I met this law professor who is going to Africa with grant money to do research and I’ve been picking his brain on ways to get to go back. This one just might happen.)
  4. Read 100 books (well I am reading. Strangely, I forgot I had this and wasn’t keeping up with it. So far, the number I have is 4.)
  5. Go to Washington DC (the place where I interned is having their 50 year anniversary party around Thanksgiving this year)
  6. Clear out 101 items for yardsale, recycling, or trash. (This will be done really really soon. LIke in the next couple of weeks)
  7. I’ve picked the dates for the Arkansas Governor’s School reunion and now it’s just a matter of picking venues. (oh lord please let me get some venues down before July 30….)

The Health things are slowly but surely. I’ve fallen off the track with those. I hurt my arm at a party and so the push ups are out. I’m letting it heal. I’m getting back to running. i am doing the Couch to 5K to do it right and not hurt myself. It’s good though. The food stuff will come. I’ve actually gained weight but I am out of several of the stressful positions that I was in that were causing me to stress eat.

The piano stuff. oh lord I haven’t even played one note since I wrote this list. Oh and my wrist hurts so this should be interesting.

The entire list so far.

  1. To complete a marathon
  2. To complete two half marathons (I completed the Little Rock Marathon half so one down and one to go
  3. To complete the 100 push up challenge (I haven’t even done the initial fitness test on these. I need to get started)
  4. To complete the 200 sit up challenge
  5. To complete the 200 squat challenge
  6. Try drinking green monsters for a week.
  7. Drink 64 ounces of water a day.
  8. Run 3 times a week (2/143 (there are 143 weeks in 1001 days) Subgoal is for 3 months. If I can do it straight for then I will cross it off the list.
  9. Yoga twice a week X/143 with subgoal of 2 times a week for three months. Hopefully it will be a habit by then.
  10. Get a bike
  11. Try a triathalon
  12. Get my passport renewed (as of today, I have an application)
  13. Go back to Africa
  14. Go to Washington DC
  15. Go to a Little Rock Tweet up
  16. Go to the Little Rock Film Festival
  17. Go to Memphis in May
  18. Go to Voodoo Music festival in New Orleans
  19. Build a Habitat for Humanity house
  20. See the William Faulkner things in Oxford, Mississippi
  21. See the Hemingway things in Piggott, Arkansas
  22. Lose 100 pounds (what? one pound every 10 days)
  23. Read 100 books
  24. Read all Faulkner novels
  25. Get a Smart phone (blackberry or iphone) I got a BlackBerry Storm around Christmas time.
  26. Get Linked In profile up date
  27. Grow linked in Network (working on it)
  28. Go to National Association for Criminal Defense lawyers annual meeting (Spring Meeting in Memphis May 2010. Okay I said annual but I’m counting this one).
  29. Try a jury trial
  30. Win a jury trial
  31. Get certified for conflicts list in Arkansas State court
  32. Get certified for CJA list in federal court
  33. Get practice management software/system set up
  34. Get time management system set up (probably something like Randy Pausch’s system)
  35. Clean office (big clean)
  36. After big clean, pick once a week to clean office X/143
  37. See all Harry Potter movies as they come out saw Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince on 7/17/2009)
  38. Get professional site up and running (already bought domain)
  39. Blog on my legal site once a week (starting from completion of set up)
  40. Be living in a different city or town than the one I am in by the end date of this list. (Wednesday, April 11, 2012)
  41. Get over fear of dentist and get all my dental work done
  42. Get a pair of black Manolo pumps. (I never said they couldn’t be shallow things)
  43. Get a Vespa.
  44. Keep brows groomed with once a month waxing appointments1/34
  45. get a professional massage
  46. get a facial
  47. Try sushi (no I’ve never tried it)
  48. See Nine Inch Nails or the Dandy Warhols in Concert. (I figure one or the other will tour in the next three-ish years) Okay guys Nine INch Nails has already done their last concert EVER and I missed it. EPIC FAIL!
  49. Learn ballroom or salsa dancing.
  50. Figure out the perfect margarita recipe.
  51. Finish learning Hungarian Rhapsody #2. (yeah I dream big. I might be closer to this than you think)
  52. Learn Un Sospiro by Liszt
  53. give blood
  54. put $5000 in savings. (hopefully more)
  55. Try acupuncture
  56. Send a letter or other type of non business/ non holiday related snail mail once a month 0/34
  57. Participate in the 365 day photo challenge
  58. Identify 101 things that make me happy
  59. Put my attorney profile on Law Link
  60. Try the 21 day challenge
  61. Clear out 101 items for yardsale, recycling, or trash. (I’m a clutter bug, this is actually a low number)
  62. Advertise my business on MonticelloLive
  63. mail a secret to Post Secret
  64. See my grandmother in person at least once every two months. (seriously it’s been so long since I’ve seen my grandma and she only lives 50 miles away)
  65. Go to my 10 year law school reunion
  66. Go to my 15 year college reunion April 17, 2010
  67. Go to my 20 year high school reunion (yes they all fall within the 1001 days)
  68. Organize and attend Arkansas Governor’s School class of 1990 reunion. (apparently no one else is going to organize it so it might as well be me)
  69. Try a pomegranite margarita
  70. Make the roast chicken from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French cooking
  71. Plan a 5K for charity. (I have this for work and am in the process of doing it)
  72. Try a mojito.
  73. Try the homemade Moon pie from Capital Bar and Grill.
  74. Cook a souffle
  75. Try one new recipe a month. (Yes I’m really up on the cooking)
  76. Run in 6 5ks
  77. Have molefest with Tom
  78. Get a budget set up either via Quicken or mint or something else.
  79. See Fellini’s 8 1/2
  80. Eat more ice cream (Thanks LRtweetup)
  81. Go see Conan O’Brien (okay I’m aware that this is slightly cheating but if at the time of the inception of this list if there was a chance in hell of Conan touring, I would have put it on here. So yeah. WHEEE) May 15, 2010
  82. Get the T-Anthony all purpose tote in black with white trim. Yes it is expensive but I have been lusting over this WASPy stylish bag for over 3 years. It’s so chic, man. I never said I didn’t have a shallow bone in my body.
  83. Vote in every election
  84. Volunteer or donate to at least one political campaign for each election
  85. don’t beat myself up if I don’t meet my goals (stole this one from my friend. bwahahahah. I’m a goal stealer.)
  86. Finish the rest of the list (July 15, 2009)
  87. Keep monthly blog updates on my progress (bwahahahahahhahahah yeah that has sooo happened)
  88. Finish list
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. rebl1969 / Jun 5 2010 5:57 pm

    How many 5Ks have you done?
    Come run Soaring Wings Half Marathon with me in October in Conway. There’s a 4-hour time limit so they don’t even care if you’re slow. Even using a conservative training plan like John Bingham’s doesn’t have you start training till July.

  2. merlisser / Jun 5 2010 8:10 pm

    crap. I don’t even know. I haven’t counted. There have been so many that I have planned to do but ended up falling through the cracks that it might be zero.

Leave a Reply

